First Step – Introduction

This is my journey to know God’s true church, the one found in scripture.

First steps can be the most difficult and daunting. People get comfortable where they are. I am. Aren’t you?

I’ve gotten up nearly every Sunday morning of my life to make the trip to “Church”. That routine is a part of who I am.  It’s ingrained in me.

I find comfort in the routine, yet there is a nagging ache. An emptiness of sort. Its been there for some time now and won’t go away.

This is my first step… but the first step is hard, because what is the step? Is something wrong with “Church” or is something wrong with me? What is the source of the ache? The ache is true, I feel it in my heart and has to be a symptom of something, but what?

Something about the American church just seems off.

I’ve read the Bible, studied with brothers and sisters, searched the net, and thought, and thought, and thought. You get the idea. You may have gone through the same thing. Maybe those are among the first steps. But honestly, and shamefully, the step I have ignored is prayer.

Prayer has to be the first step doesn’t it?

So as I begin this blog, I will also go back and begin where I should have started a long time ago.

I will pray.

I [wisdom] love those who love me, And those who seek me diligently will find me. -Proverb 8:17
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

