No Seriously… Pray

Psalm 5. Pray.

No seriously. Pray!

Give heed to the voice of my cry, My King and my God, For to You I will pray, My voice You shall hear in the morning, O LORD; In the morning I will direct it to You, And I will look up. -v.2,3

David told the Lord “You will hear me in the morning”. What a decision. What a commitment. Or was it that David loved God so much that he wasn’t going to miss that time talking to God. Or, was it that David knew he desperately needed God just to make it through the day. Either way, it was important, but I don’t think I will ever know David’s reasons. I have to learn for myself.

Knowing God.

I have a friend who, before we were friends, got hurt. He could hardly move. I decided I wanted to visit him and get to know him, so I went to his house and sat with him once a week for an hour every week for a year. Guess what happened. We are now dear friends.

Sometimes what you need to get to know someone is time. Give God some time. Talk to him, get to know him. I remember that for a while it was uncomfortable with my friend, just sitting and talking, but it isn’t now. Right now, with God, it is a little uncomfortable, but I do it now because I want to know Him. Not because I feel like I have to.

This entry was posted in Prayer, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

