A Humbling Morning

Psalm 8

When I consider Your heavens, the work of Your fingers, The moon and the stars, which You have ordained, What is man that You are mindful of him, And the son of man that You visit him? -v.3,4

It was only last week that I watched a video contrasting the size of earth with the size of the largest known stars and objects in the universe. Wow! Humbling. We are nothing. What am I that God has been mindful of me?

The things I fear, worry over, consume myself with, and essentially, live for are nothing. A total waste. God is all there is and will be. What am I going to live for?

I think this is important for my study, because I often fear men, or love my comfortable rut. I consider “things” or “somebodies” more valuable than God. I would rather lose God than loose my wife, or kids, or job, or respect. Sad…

Its got to change. So today I will be telling God about this (I know He already knows, but this is something to say about confession), and start practicing what I pray.

O LORD, our Lord, How excellent is Your name in all the earth! -v.9

MOST excellent. Why are we blind?

This entry was posted in Prayer, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

