In His Pride, He Persecutes

Psalm 10

WHY do You stand afar off, O LORD? Why do You hide in times of trouble? The wicked in his pride persecutes the poor; Let them be caught in the plots which they have devised. -v.1,2

This really goes along with yesterday. I got a call from my friend Steve last night. He continues to humble me. He told me that he had asked a question of the leader in our church about elders, and how he did it (humbly, meekly) a door was able to be opened for discussion. I don’t know how far it can go, but it is open. And that is what I cannot do.

Why?

Because of my pride. Because of I have not been meek. People see me as someone who likes to rock the boat, get into conflict, and not listen. I am usually not any of these, but I have shown all of these a few times in the past year, and that is what others remember.

One thing is, I haven’t tried to change that perception.

The first thing I need to do is be happy. I don’t exude joy. I don’t look content. A simple smile, and joyfulness to be around my brothers and sisters would go a long way.

Beats living in constant frustration.

And referring to the Psalm, I think I am the wicked in my pride persecuting the poor (or at least who I see as being poor). What pride I have.

But through my pride, God is still gracious. A door has been open, and I pray that we will be wise, and humble, in discussing the church. Because I know I could be wrong. It happened one time before. 😉

This entry was posted in Prayer, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

