I Will Be Satisfied

Psalm 17

Arise, O LORD, confront him, bring him low; Deliver my soul from the wicked with Your sword, From men with Your hand, O LORD, From men of the world, whose portion is in this life, And whose belly You fill with Your treasure; They are satisfied with children, And leave their abundance to their babes. As for me, I shall behold Your face in righteousness; I will be satisfied with Your likeness when I awake. -v.13-15

I am having to make some tough decisions right now. Spiritual, personal, physical, dealing with home, school, work, family, church, and the list seems to go on and on.

This was just what I needed to read. My portion cannot be in life, this life anyway. I must not be one who is satisfied with money, family, and what this life has to offer. David was not satisfied with that. He even lumped these people (men of the world) with those who are wicked. Or he was calling them wicked, talking about only one type of person. That may be more likely.

What David said is wise, and I need to keep it in my heart so that all of these decisions stay in perspective.

He said, what will satisfy him, will be beholding God’s likeness. Nothing matters unless it has to do with seeing our Lord. If it will get in the way, forget about it, avoid it, call it wicked even.

What a mercy God has shown us all by giving us the words of David, a man after God’s own heart, so that we may  learn how to be after God’s heart too. What mercy!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

