Me Neither…

I read I Just Can’t Do It Anymore by Erik Carpenter at A Pilgrim’s Progress, and agree.

In his blog he is talking about how he has decided to answer people who ask him “Why?” he left being a full-time paid pastor. I am not a pastor, but I am closer to that feeling than ever before. But it’s tough knowing what to do.

I remember, though, something Jesus said in Matthew 13:44.

The kingdom of heaven is like a treasure hidden in the field, which a man found and hid again; and from joy over it he goes and sells all that he has and buys that field.

Sadly I feel like I’ve had to be pushed to selling all I have, so to speak. I haven’t been that joyful. Finding the treasure is amazing, but why am I not over joyed by this discovery?

Maybe it’s what you have to sell or forsake. Maybe it has been so valuable for so long, that it’s hard. Maybe I need a slap in the face to realize the treasure I have been given. Nothing else matters. Be happy, be glad, be overjoyed…

What else is there? Stop doing what I can’t do anymore…

Sol:  I just can’t do it anymore Bob.

Bob: Then why are you still doing it?

Sol:  That’s not the point.

Bob:  You know you’re an idiot, right?

Sol:  That’s not the point either.

Bob:  Stop Doing it.

Sol:  But I can’t just stop doing it.

Bob:  Sounds like you can’t stop not doing it.

Sol:  Now you’ve made me mad, I’m done talking to you.

Bob:  Then why are you still standing here?

Sol:  Can you give me a ride to my house?

Bob:  Hop in.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Me Neither…

  1. Bud Ezekiel says:

    i’ve been out of the church for fifteen years now. that’s what i stopped doing:) but just he was being asked why, i’ve taken enough beatings by the religeous right for not going. i’ve been reading on this site lately and realize that church really isn’t the answer.

    thinking it’s better to avoid the wolves… there’s so many. baaaa baaaa

  2. What I think about, and worry about, are the people I would be leaving. I’ve already started making the disconnection with the “organization”, but the people I love, you know, the real church. At the same time, leaving the organization would likely bring a disconnect with the people too. And it is the people that still actually “build me up” when I’m with them.

    I think there is a better way, and so doing the “Church” thing is tough, but I just can’t pull myself away from it.

  3. Bobby says:

    I remember this struggle well. In some ways I am still going through it. There are many people in the traditional church system that I love and miss very much.

  4. It’s not much fun, but the good thing here now, is that we are on the brink of an open discussion of many of the main issues. Who know how it will turn out, but that is a ray of hope. I hope we all have open hearts and minds, and discuss this all in love. I really don’t want it to be easy to leave, if you know what I mean. Leaving on bad terms is far from ideal (that is, if that is what happens).

  5. Bobby says:

    We spend six and a half hours a the home of one of the elders in our church about a month before we left for good. It was a roller-coaster ride but it ended with us embracing and agreeing to disagree.

  6. The discussion has kind of been discouraging. I have to remember to be patient. These are not easy things to see, nor accept. In the end, everyone will at least know our reasoning. I hope, if that is the case, this will be our “six and a half hours” before an embrace.

Leave a Reply

