For One Another

Alan Knox at The Assembling of the Church has a good reminder here. It really pointed something out that I sometimes understand, and then the next day I don’t. I think because of how we have traditionally done church, it just doesn’t want to stick. Below is the main thing I need to remind myself of, the purpose of coming together.

But, my goal – and the purpose of this blog – is not to get as many people as possible to meet in houses. Instead, my goal is to get believers to recognize their responsibility to build up (edify) one another (mutually) whenever and wherever they meet together.

Now, I do believe that some locations are better for church meetings than others. I believe that some setups or seating arrangements are better than others. But, that does not mean that believers cannot edify one another when meeting in a less than perfect location (as if there is a perfect location) or sitting in less than perfect arrangements (as if there is a perfect arrangement).

My hope is that each church will consider their current method of meeting together and attempt to change that method however necessary to help one another begin to encourage, teach, admonish, serve, and build up others.

Hebrews 10:24

And may we consider one another to provoke to love and to good works,

I wonder if I get too wrapped up in “how”, when the focus is “why”. Maybe in simply doing the “why”, the “how” takes care of itself, that assuming you are using the Word as your guide. And if I am honest with myself, I would think that, maybe, our Father would be more pleased if we are getting the “why” right and the “how” wrong, over if we are getting the “how” right but the “why” wrong. I know wrong in wrong, but if I had to pick one, it would be the “why”. My problem is that I have a record of obsessing over the “how” and ignoring the “why”.

Does that make sense? Not so much?

Anyway, thanks Alan.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to For One Another

  1. Alan Knox says:

    Sol,

    The difference between “how” and “why” makes perfect sense to me. Like you said, I think the “how” will sort itself out when we seek the “why.” By the way, I also think the “how” will be different from church to church, primarily because the people are different.

    I love the title of this post also: “For One Another”… awesome!

    -Alan

  2. Alan, I guess I should check my SPAM filter occasionally, because I just found your comment floating there between a sure fire way to increase traffic to my blog, and something written in an uninterpreted tongue. I wonder how many others have been fried with the SPAM…

    Even now, I have a hard time understanding what it means to gather for one another. Maybe it just comes with experience.

Leave a Reply

