What Did I Give

Trying to see how I can be the church, with the guidance of others, I am looking for ways to help people. We have had some discussion lately about what are needs, and in helping someone today, I got a kick in the head about what that means.

I know a man who has almost no money, no retirement, no savings account, and no ability to work to gain money. I don’t want to get into how I was able to help this man, but it involved buying him something. As I was leaving his apartment, he wanted to pay back part of the money now, and the rest in two weeks.

As he insisted, I told him to give the money to someone who needs it, and he then told me that he does that. What!?! I thought. You already do?

This man, knowing that he has no money, knowing he is about to part with his savings, and would need to save more to pay the rest in two weeks, was already doing it!?!

He told me that just yesterday, already knowing he needed to pay this money, while he was out getting some food, saw a homeless man and bought him lunch. Boy did I feel small. I gave nothing compared to this man. I am amazed at what I have left to learn. I know nothing of sacrifice and giving. I know nothing of true need and poverty.

A poor widow came and put in two small copper coins, which amount to a cent. Calling His disciples to Him, He said to them, “Truly I say to you, this poor widow put in more than all the contributors to the treasury; for they all put in out of their surplus, but she, out of her poverty, put in all she owned, all she had to live on.” -Mark 12:42-44 (NASB)

What a blessing to actually see this happen today, even if I am the one giving out of my abundance. I almost feel like I was one of the disciples called over by Jesus to experience this amazing lesson.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What Did I Give

  1. Pingback: A modern widow’s mite? | The Assembling of the Church

  2. Pondero says:

    Fantastic story. I’ll get with you later for more details.

Leave a Reply

