We Want To Get Together

Ideas and suggestions are already coming in. I also spoke with a man who plans on participating, telling him what I’m thinking about doing, and it really soothed some worries. Here is what he said,

I don’t care what we do. Anything is fine, ’cause I just want to get together with you guys.

What a relief. That is something I really needed to hear. I was getting worried about how it was going to go, but now I realize my brothers and sisters just want to be together. I’m not the only one who wants this to succeed.

I also wanted to post the comments from Jason Vana that I mentioned in my last post. Jason said;

– Share your heart for what you want your small group to become. Pretty much, share your vision and reason for the small group.

– Ask your members what THEY want from the group and why they are coming.

– Get people involved. The more you get others involved, the more likely they will keep coming. Things like asking couples/individuals to bring snacks, choose songs for worship, write down prayer requests and email them to the group so people can pray during the week.

– Ask questions. The benefit of a small group is that everyone can contribute, instead of just one person talking. Don’t try to come up with messages, come up with discussions. Ask questions. Leave time for uncomfortable silence. Get people talking.

– Pray. Before the group, after the group, even have people pair off (or in groups of 3 or 4) and pray for each other during group. People tend to open up a lot when they are asked what they need prayer for.

Jason also made a statement early in his comments about choosing what to focus on. Is it on being an extension of the Sunday morning service or is the focus on building relationships? I choose the latter. Thanks again Jason and Alan. See Alan’s here.

This entry was posted in Gathering, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to We Want To Get Together

  1. Jason Vana says:

    “but now I realize my brothers and sisters just want to be together. ”

    That’s awesome that the people interested in getting involved have the same feeling towards the group as you. I wish I could tell you a certain formula that would get it up and going and growing well, but each person is different, so each group is different. The way the small group I attend through a local church functions is different from the way my college ministry functions. Different atmosphere, different people…different results.

    The best advice I can give is just to allow the community to build naturally. Think of it as a bunch of family or friends getting together to have fun…and watch what happens. When you get people together who love God, eventually they will start talking about God. And it’s so much better when it happens naturally than when it is forced through a message or bible study.

    Good luck with the group and I’ll be praying for you all!

  2. Thanks for the continued support Jason.

    I’m enjoying checking out your blog too.

  3. Jason Vana says:

    You’re welcome man. I am passionate about the possibilities small groups allow us in following Christ. If you ever need any help, don’t hesitate to contact me!

    And thanks for checking out my blog! 😀

  4. Pingback: Starting New Churches | Till He Comes

  5. Pingback: Starting a New Church

Leave a Reply

