The Survival of the Bark Canoe

I have just finished reading a really good book by John McPhee, The Survival of the Bark Canoe. A friend lent it to me several months ago, but I just couldn’t bring myself to read it. It just didn’t look that interesting.

But after realizing that I at least needed to get it back to him, I decided to read the back. It sounded okay, and then I thought, why would he recommend a horrible book, so I started reading it, along with two other books I’ve been working my way through.

It turns out that I laid the other books down and focused on bark canoes.

The Survival of the Bark Canoe is a story of the building of birchbark canoes and of a 150-mile trip through the Maine woods in those graceful survivors of Native American technology… As McPhee presents the lore of the bark canoe, he also narrates an extraordinary story: of battling tenacious winds on Chamberlain Lake, of exhausting portages, of coming upon scenes of breathtaking beauty, and of the slowly developing tension among the five people on the trip. (From the back cover)

There really isn’t too much else to say about it, it is a simple story on my side of extreme. Just what I needed to wet my appetite for setting out on my own adventure soon.

This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

