A Place to Think

A few days ago I decided to get up early, (instead of sleeping in now that I am unemployed), to make sure I don’t get lazy.

I packed my bike and set off. I decided on a short 3.5 miles out to a tiny cemetery I’ve road to before. It was the only place I could think of that was quiet and close, plus, I thought it might offer perspective.

On the way, I was inspired to stop and click a few pictures, Pondero style. (A few others didn’t turn out well, even worse than this one.) Nice to see some trees for a change.

This looked like an old road heading out into nowhere. The path looked grown over by 20 years.

It was a good ride. I took some coffee, not quite as cool as this, but it worked. I also brought some reading material, Psalms 48 and 49.

For this is God,
Our God forever and ever;
He will be our guide
Even to death. -Psalm 48:14

Very fitting considering my location… along with:

This is the way of those who are foolish,
And of their posterity who approve their sayings.
Like sheep they are laid in the grave;
Death shall feed on them;
The upright shall have dominion over them in the morning;
And their beauty shall be consumed in the grave, far from their dwelling.
But God will redeem my soul from the power of the grave,
For He shall receive me. -Psalm 49:13-15

I’m usually amazed at how God’s word just fits.

It’s also a bit different being alone. Something you kind of have to get used to. But I’m up for it. We need that sometimes.

Before I left, I had to take one more picture.

Took the Vibrams on a short test ride. They did fine. Not for long or hilly trips though.

Looking forward to giving it another go, hopefully will be a little less windy next time.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to A Place to Think

  1. Pondero says:

    That looks like my kind of way to get a healthy serving of perspective.

Leave a comment